Threshing Barn Courses and Events

To book any course on this page please phone 01748 884025

Have you ever fancied learning to spin, weave or make rugs? Well you’ve come to the right place here at The Threshing Barn.

I can run two types of craft courses. There are courses run on specific dates and are available on a forst-come first served basis - the list is at the foot of this page. I also run eight courses on specific subjects that you can book at a time that suits your availability (and mine!).

I am happy to travel to spinning, weaving and embroidery guilds to give talks, sales of crafts and to run workshops.

Craft Courses run from 10 am – 4.30 pm. The cost of a Basic Course is £60 per person, per day. (Students £40, Children £35). Knitting Workshop at The Threshing Barn A 50% deposit is required with bookings. Deposits are non-refundable but your booking can be transferred with 7 days notice. School holiday and birthday party workshops are available for children. There is a ground floor workshop available with access for people with disabilities. Basic materials are included in the cost of the workshop. Additional material costs are incurred on some craft courses.

All our regular workshops above can be held on dates to suit us both.

To book any course on this page please phone 01748 884025

Beginners Rigid Heddle Weaving

Date: Tue March 26, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

All equipment and materials provided

Spring Flowers in Batik

Date: Sat March 30, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

You will learn the use of tjanting tools to draw with wax on a silk panel before painting with silk paints

Indian Block Printing

Date: Sat April 6, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

Paint a background design onto cotton before printing your design. You will print a tea towel and shopping bag all included in the workshop price.

Spring into Wool

Date: Sat April 13, 2019
Leeds Grammar School

Beginners Spinner Day

Date: Tue April 16, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

Come and learn on one of our wheels or bring your own

Wooderwool Wales

Date: Sat April 27, 2019
Builth Wells

Waves in Hooking

Date: Wed May 1, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

With this rug technique make a picture or cushion cover using mixed materials to create swirling rolling waves

Knit and Stitch

Date: Sat May 4, 2019
Rheged Centre, Penrith

Buxton Wool gathering

Date: Sat May 11, 2019
Pavilion Gardens, Buxton

Blossoms in Felt

Date: Wed May 15, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

A wet felt picture will be full of pre-felt flowers bursting out of the garden background

Tynedale Guild Open Day

Date: Sat May 18, 2019
Stocksfield nr Hexham

All welcome

Derby Guild Workshop

Date: Sat June 8, 2019
Derby

Circular Peg Loom Weaving

Date: Sat June 15, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

Produce a placemat, cushion cover or a basket. Loom and all materials provided

Locker Hooking with Yorkshire Wools

Date: Thu June 20, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

Design an angular geometric pattern and hook with our local natural coloured wools

Woolfest

Date: Fri June 28, 2019
Cockermouth Cumbria

Washing Line Bowls

Date: Sat July 6, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

You will need your seeing machine with a thick denim needle to sew these bowls, baskets or place mats. A great workshop to use up cotton fabric

Yarningham

Date: Sat July 13, 2019
Birmingham

Plying techniques for Spinners

Date: Wed July 17, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

A fun workshop for spinners to create textured yarns

Bradford Guild Weaving Workshop

Date: Sat July 20, 2019
Bradford

Sea Shells in Batik

Date: Wed July 24, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

Inspired by the patterns on shells, paint your own deign onto a silk picture using hot wax and silk paints

Fibre East

Date: Sat July 27, 2019
Ampthill Bedford

Swaledale landscapes in Felt

Date: Sun August 4, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

Be inspired by the stunning scenery around Reeth to paint with our wools your own needle-felted souvenir

Treasure Pods in Wet Felt

Date: Tue August 6, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

Using our own hand-dyed wools make these 3D pots to keep your jewellery or keys inside. Decorate with embroidery, beads and sequins

AHWSD Summer School Traders Market

Date: Sat August 10, 2019
Askham Bryant Agricultural College York

Butterflies in Batik

Date: Wed August 14, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

The colours and shapes of butterflies are our starting point to paint a background picture before decorating with wooden printing blocks

Pop Up Wool Show

Date: Sat August 17, 2019
The Wirral, Cheshire

The Love of Trees

Date: Tue August 20, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

Explore creating textures and patterns with found bark. This will involve stitching, pleating and cutting into pre-felt and collaging with silks

By the Seaside

Date: Tue August 27, 2019
The Threshing Barn, Reeth

A wet felt picture using our drum carded wools and dramatic waves created by Teeswater locks

Southern Wool Show

Date: Sat August 31, 2019
Newbury Racecourse